Roll Grades Steel

HSS TERANIT
With HSS-rolls an extraordinary rolling performance is obtained by extremely hard and wear-resistant special carbides of the alloying elements W, Mo, V and others which are imbedded in a high alloyed and treated matrix, having an excellent high-temperature strength and tenacity. The TERANIT-roll achieves the longest campaigns and highest rolling performances with a first-class roll surface. For the various applications we provide HSS-rolls with finely graded carbide contents of Semi-HSS (TERANIT A) up to genuine HSS (TERANIT B, C, D).

Chrome Steel CROMANIT CS
Chrome steel rolls with low up to medium chrome carbide contents are used especially in roughing stands of hot strip and Steckel mills due to their high thermal wear resistance. They excel due to their reliability and good rolling performances.

Chrome Iron CROMANIT
Chrome Iron rolls with higher carbide contents are used as finishing rolls for sheet and strip. Due to their high wear resistance and a fine-grained structure CROMANIT-rolls achieve best rolling performances with excellent rolling stock surfaces.
Typical applications are:

– Finishing stands of hot strip mills
– Work and skin pass rolls in cold strip mills
– Work rolls in plate mill stands
– Rolls with shaped surfaces for the production of corrugated sheet (rhombic design, tear design and others.)

Indefinite Chill ULTRANIT
Typically the Indefinite-roll is used in the last finishing stands of hot strip mills, in Steckel stands and plate mill stands. Further applications are work and back-up rolls in finishing and skin pass stands of cold strip mills as well as in the production of non-ferrous metals. In comparison to standard roll grades the advanced and especially alloyed Indefinite-rolls achieve higher performances. The material grade ULTRANIT S has additional high wear-resistant special carbides which are embedded in a fine-grain matrix together with finely dispersed graphite.

Nodular Cast Iron SPHÄRONIT
Sphäronit-rolls excel due to a predominantly pearlitic structure with embedded cementite and spheroidal graphite. The latter confers to the roll material a high resistance and a good thermal conductivity. Also, this material is mostly used for edgers in hot strip and plate mills.

Nodular Cast Iron ASTRANIT
KB-ASTRANIT-rolls obtain their excellent wear resistance due to high alloying contents. These rolls require, however, an optimal and intensive nozzle cooling.

Cast Steel SOLANIT
SOLANIT-rolls cover the range of eutectoid and hypereutectoid cast steel grades. The hardness and wear resistance of the various material grades are obtained by alloys and intensive heat treatment (SOLANIT C and D). Furthermore the rolls can be supplied graphitized (SOLANIT G) and high graphitized (SOLANIT SG). These rolls are typically used as edger rolls in hot strip and plate mills.

Special Alloys
The use of special micro-alloying elements in combination with an intensive heat treatment allows an improvement of the performance of all KB-roll grades and an individual customization. These roll grades are characterized by an additional “S” in their brand name.

Werkstoffe (Stahl)

HSS TERANIT
Bei den HSS-Walzen wird die außergewöhnliche Leistungsfähigkeit durch extrem harte verschleißfeste Sonderkarbide der Legierungselemente W, Mo, V und andere erreicht, die in eine hochlegierte und vergütete Matrix mit hoher Warmfestigkeit und Zähigkeit eingelagert sind. Die TERANIT-Walze erreicht höchste Standzeiten und Walzleistungen bei einer erstklassigen Walzenoberfläche. Für verschiedene Anwendungen stehen HSS-Walzen in feinen Abstufungen des Karbid-Gehaltes von „Semi-HSS“ (TERANIT A) bis HSS (TERANIT B,C,D) zur Verfügung.

Chromstahl CROMANIT CS
Chromstahlwalzen mit niedrigen bis mittleren Chromkarbidgehalten werden wegen des hohen thermischen Verschleißwiderstandes bevorzugt in den
Vorgerüsten von Warmband- und Steckel-Straßen eingesetzt. Sie zeichnen sich dort durch hohe Zuverlässigkeit und gute Walzleistungen aus.

Chromgusseisen CROMANIT
Chromgusswalzen mit höheren Karbidgehalten werden als Fertigwalzen für Bleche und Bänder eingesetzt. Durch die hohe Verschleißfestigkeit und feinkörnige Gefügestruktur erreicht die CROMANIT-Walze höchste Walzleistungen bei besten Walzgutoberflächen.

Typische Anwendungsbeispiele sind:

– Fertiggerüste von Warmbandstraßen
– Arbeits- und Dressierwalzen in Kaltbandwalzwerken
– Arbeitswalzen in Grobblechgerüsten
– Walzen mit profilierter Oberfläche zur Herstellung von Musterblechen (Rhomben, Tränen, u.a.)

Indefinitguss ULTRANIT
Die Indefinitwalze wird typischerweise in den letzten Fertiggerüsten von Warmbandstraßen, in Steckel- und Grobblechgerüsten eingesetzt. Weitere Anwendungen findet diese Qualität als Arbeits- und Stützwalzen in den Fertig- und Dressiergerüsten von Kaltbandstrassen sowie bei der Erzeugung von NE-Metallen. Höhere Walzleistungen gegenüber den Standardqualitäten werden mit weiterentwickelten, speziell legierten Indefinitgusswalzen erreicht. Der Werkstoff ULTRANIT S hat zusätzlich hochverschleißfeste Sonderkarbide, die neben feinverteiltem Grafit in einer feinkörnigen Matrix eingebettet sind.

Sphäroguss SPHÄRONIT
Die Sphäronit-Walzen zeichnen sich durch ein überwiegend perlitisches Grundgefüge mit eingelagertem Zementit und Kugelgrafit aus. Letzterer verleiht dem Walzenwerkstoff eine hohe Festigkeit und gute Wärmeleitfähigkeit. Auch dieser Werkstoff wird überwiegend für Staucher in Warmband – und Grobblechstraßen verwendet.

Sphäroguss ASTRANIT
KB-ASTRANIT-Walzen erreichen durch einen hohen Legierungsgehalt den hervorragenden Verschleißwiderstand. Sie benötigen allerdings eine optimale und intensive Düsenkühlung.

Stahlguss SOLANIT
Die Solanit-Walzen umfassen den Bereich der eutektoiden und übereutektoiden Stahlgussqualitäten. Durch Legierung und aufwendige Vergütung werden Härte und Verschleißfestigkeit der einzelnen Qualitätsstufen eingestellt (SOLANIT C und D). Die Walzen sind auch graphitisiert (SOLANIT G) und stark graphitisiert (SOLANIT SG) erhältlich. Ein typischer Anwendungsbereich für diese Walzen sind Staucher in Warmband – und Grobblechstraßen.

Sonderlegierungen
Durch den Einsatz spezieller Mikrolegierungselemente in Verbindung mit einer intensiven Wärmebehandlung kann die Leistungsfähigkeit sämtlicher KB-Qualitäten noch weiter gesteigert und den Kundenanforderungen individuell angepasst werden. Diese Qualitäten werden mit einem zusätzlichen „S“ gekennzeichnet.